Chocolate Chip Cookies [VEGAN]

I took this recipe from this blog, which the author got it from this blog! I made only minor alterations—I doubled the quantity and added cocoa powder 🙂

Below is what I did, yielding about 40 yummy cookies.

1

ingredients:

  1.     4 cups all-purpose flour
  2.     2 tsp baking soda
  3.     2 tsp baking powder
  4.     1 tsp salt
  5.     1/2 cup cocoa powder
  6.     1 cup coconut oil
  7.     2 cups brown sugar
  8.     1/2 cup plant milk (I used soy)
  9.     2 tbsp vanilla extract
  10.     1 cup chocolate chips

(tsp = teaspoon; tbsp = tablespoon)

method:

Pre-heat oven to 170 degrees Celcius.

Combine the dry ingredients (numbers 1 – 4).

In a separate bowl, mix 6 – 9. I used a whisk but I guess you can just use a big spoon. The mixture will be liquidy.

Combine the dry and wet ingredients and mix well. The dough will be crumbly, which is perfectly okay! Here you can add in the chocolate chips. I had a short supply of those so I added them after I’ve rolled the dough onto the baking pan. But if you have loads, just mix them in! 

I then added the cocoa powder. I didn’t add in earlier because I wanted the cookies to have a marble pattern. 

Roll the dough into a tbsp sized balls and place them on an ungreased baking sheet and flatten them out with your palm. Again, the dough may be crumbly but smoosh it together and it will be fine!

Bake for 10 minutes (and only 10 mins max or else it will burn!). Let the cookies cool and they will harden up a bit. 

4

VERDICT

The cookies were soft like Subway cookies. Nicely sweet and with a tinge of saltiness. I was not quite satisfied with the chocolate chips — they didn’t melt at all! So I might try a different brand next time.

I brought the cookies to my cousin’s brithay celebration. I did intend to bake something for that occasion and I settled upon this simple snack. And they were praised by many! One of my cousins liked them so much that he couldn’t quite believe they were vegan. Or maybe he was just teasing me… :p

Thank you Vegan Housewives for coming up with the recipe. It’s super simple and delicious as well!

So, what are you waiting for? Fill up your pantry and get baking! Good luck and enjoy x

3

Leave a Reply

