veganniversary

It has been a year since I had not consumed meat, dairy or eggs for environmental, health and ethical reasons. You can read all about veganism all over the internet. I shall list some good sources below. But today, as my “veganniversary” (not really a big deal), I thought it would be fun to do this Q&A thing.

img_0297

When did you become vegan?

A year ago. I think it was the 1st of October 2015, the day (or day after) I arrived in the UK.

Why did you become vegan?

I found out how animal agriculture (livestock and byproducts) contributes significantly to global warming. It is also one of the causes of numerous environmental issues like deforestation. I learnt how consumerism also plays a role and that the issue goes much deeper. I discovered that a plant-based diet may help reduce the chances of chronic diseases. Like they say, prevention is better than cure. After knowing about the existence of factory farms and understanding how far we have manipulated animals, I felt compelled to stand up against animal cruelty. I believe that compassion is key to achieve peace and so far this vegan diet upholds such value in every way. 

What was the hardest part about becoming vegan?

Receiving people’s various comments and opinions on minute details when all I am doing is striving to live compassionately and mindfully. Sure veganism is not perfect. Yes, you can’t get B12 on a plant-based diet unless it’s fortified or you take supplements (or perhaps there is a plant containing B12 that I don’t know about or I can just eat soil). But you can get enough and complete proteins from plants like soy, beans, legumes, chia seeds and even leafy vegetables and grains. You just need to be smart and have a good combination of them!

Is it difficult to be vegan?

Not for me. Not if you open your eyes to the horrors of human activities. It is difficult if you keep thinking on your perspective rather than the perspective of others (animals and the environment).

Do you let certain things “slide” from time to time? (for example, use/purchase non-vegan items. etc.)

In terms of animal products other than food, I no longer buy leather and the like. But I still do own such materials that were bought years ago. At restaurants that aren’t so vegan-friendly, I try my best to ask for a modified meal. I might have unknowingly slipped, but I wouldn’t let it be on purpose. Like that time when I accidentally bought a bolognese sauce instead of just tomato sauce for pasta…

Do you support vegetarianism and or “something’s better than nothing’s”?

Yes. Nobody’s perfect but if they are genuinely striving then it’s better than nothing.

What is your favourite speciality vegan item? (name as many as you’d like!)

Currently, all I can think of is sambal tempeh and bindi curry! 😀

What is your opinion of the meat and dairy alternatives?

I’m alright with them. Personally, I don’t eat meat alternatives regularly and I wouldn’t want to mainly because they are processed food. But it’s okay once in a while. Dairy alternatives like soy milk and almond milk are fine. It’s definitely better if I can make them from scratch.

Do you feel judged by other vegans sometimes? How do you deal with it?

I don’t think so. They have all been very supportive.

Do you enjoy being vegan?

Absolutely. Even though I stumble along the way and might have doubts here and there but so far the pros outweigh the cons so I believe that this has been great for me physically, mentally and spiritually. Plus, I get to learn new things and meet new people. And that is always great!


Useful resources:

  1. What is veganism?
  2. The Most Important Speech You Will Ever Hear
  3. Environmental issues from Cowspiracy
  4. Earthlings documentary
  5. We’ve Become Disconnected
Leave a Reply

