Chocolate Cake [VEGAN]

ingredients:

the cake

  1. 2 cups all purpose flour
  2. 2/cups cocoa powder
  3. 2 tsp baking powder
  4. 1 tsp baking soda
  5. 2 cups soy milk
  6. 226 g margarine
  7. 1 cup brown sugar
  8. 2/cup castor sugar
  9. 1 tbsp vanilla extract

 

the frosting

  1. ½ cups icing sugar
  2. 1 cup cocoa powder
  3. 250 g margarine
  4. ½ cup soy milk

 

(tsp = teaspoon; tbsp = tablespoon)

 

method:

the cake

Mix 1 – 4 in a bowl. These are the dry ingredients.

Using a cake mixer, mix 6 – 9 until smooth. Then, add the dry ingredients alternately with the soy milk into the cake mixer, ie dry, soy, mix… dry, soy, mix… etc. Tip: make sure you start with the dry and end with the dry 🙂

Mix until smooth.

Bake in the oven at 170 degrees Celsius for 30 minutes or until a stick or knife inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Let it cool before adding the frosting.

 

the frosting

Mix 1 & 2 in a bowl.

Using a cake mixer, mix the margarine until it’s fluffy. 

Add the 1 & 2 mixture intermittently into the cake mixer on low power. 

Then, add the soy milk bit by bit. Watch over this step; make sure it does not become too runny.

 

Note: My friend and I made this as two layers. So add the frosting on top of the bottom layer before putting the top layer on top of the bottom layer. Then, frost the top layer. Top that with whatever you want. Put the cake in the fridge to set for at least 15 mins.

 

IMG_1809

 

This is not the healthiest of foods, obviously, as it contains lots of sugar. But hey, life needs to be enjoyed and at least it’s cruelty-free 🙂

This is, I think, the first proper, not cincai vegan cake I’ve helped bake. The previous vegan cake I did with my friends was not as fancy as this either. (I will put up a recipe for that as well — as soon as I find the picture hehe). 

The verdict? It’s SO DELICIOUS! A bit too sweet due to the icing sugar, so next time I’d probably reduce the amount. But the cake itself is great. My mum said it tasted just like typical chocolate cake, and Kak Tri who doesn’t usually like cakes and sweets said that she liked it and could actually swallow it!  =D

I will definitely experiment with more vegan desserts. This is so exciting!

A massive thank you to Nani who taught me the tips and tricks of baking. I’m quite a newbie while she’s been baking practically her whole life. This is mostly thanks to her. I only played the part of encouraging a vegan option for her cakes :p

You can check out her cake business here.

I hope this works for you too if you want to try. Good luck and enjoy! 

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake [VEGAN]

    1. Hi Lisa! Thank you for the lovely compliment – I really appreciate it. I’ve briefly browsed through your blog and I can just feel the good vibes! I’m definitely following your blog too and will read all about your adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

