Getting Back Up

Apologies for the negative vibes lately. But that’s a part of life, don’t you think?

I won’t even try to convince you that I’ve got out of that dark hole of depression. But I must say I have. It’s just that negativity in general is always coming and going, and I’d have to deal with that from time to time.

I say that because I can differentiate between depression and just normal negativity or ‘feeling down’. Depression is chronic and mostly confusing. Once I’ve detected the root of the problem, only then I was able to slowly untangle myself from it. However, it does not mean I am forever immune to negative energy, in which case, I’d probably have difficulty being motivated. But the situation would not be so hopeless as to being unable to help myself up.

So I thought I’d list a few effective methods that have helped me to be at my best again.

1. TALK TO SOMEONE

For me, the thing that I’ve found to be most effective in reabsorbing positive energy is to talk it out with someone who cares and who would give me some helpful advice. Finding that person has been quite difficult for me because I’ve had trust issues and doubts. I wouldn’t want to confess everything to someone who would only give half their attention. What’s the point then?

Usually, family members would be there for you. If not, your closest friends. If not, a complete stranger (eg a counsellor or a busker). I find that sometimes a stranger would care to listen to you more than anyone else you know. And even if you don’t want to share anything profound, a random conversation with a stranger can actually lift your spirits up.

But here’s the thing: YOU have to talk. You can take so much time in finding that right person to talk to but at some point, you would just have to pick someone and start talking. Nothing would change if you continue to keep all the negativity accumulating inside you. It needs to be let out.

2. DO THE THINGS YOU LOVE

I did forget what I actually love to do. I neglected doing what I enjoy for some time until I realised that there was something missing in my life. And so I started spending time doing enjoyable activities like dancing, reading and writing. Just for the sake of my well-being.

And oh, I feel so good! There is nothing like getting your adrenaline pumped and the hormones working with your neurons to get that happy feeling. The more I engage myself with those activities, the more I crave for it every day. I definitely won’t turn my back from them ever again.

And what is life without also acknowledging those little joyful hobbies? If fear or hatred can fuel someone to negativity, surely love can fuel someone to positivity. Yin and yang, I suppose. Fight negativity with love.

3. REORGANISE

I find that reorganising my things, clearing up my messy desk and kind of starting afresh help a lot. Most often than not, the environment you’re in does affect your mood. If your room is messy and you feel so angry, look no further than that. Pick up those clothes, make up your bed, wash those dirty dishes.

If you declutter your environment, there is a high chance that you are able to declutter your mind as well.

But all of this is for nothing if you don’t do it. SO JUST DO IT. Take one step at a time. Don’t think about anything. Don’t think that by helping yourself up that you are wasting your time. No. You are helping yourself, and that is never a waste of time.

Leave a Reply

